POSTED 29 February 2024 / IN: Non classé / BY Mélodie Bourdy

The Grands Crus Classés 1855: the eternal brilliance of Bordeaux wine … 

The Classified Growths of 1855  

  The world of wine is rich in history, tradition and excellence. Among the winegrowing treasures that have endured for decades, the Grands Crus Classés de 1855 stand out as priceless gems in the world of French wine. This historic classification, established at the Universal Exhibition in Paris in 1855, remains an invaluable guide for wine lovers the world over. 

 The Five Jewels of Bordeaux    

  Among the 1855 Premiers Crus, Château Margaux, Château Latour, Château Lafite Rothschild, Château Haut-Brion and Château Mouton Rothschild stand as ambassadors of the Bordeaux terroir. These illustrious estates embody excellence and sophistication, producing wines of exceptional quality that transcend generations. 




The lasting influence of Classification   

  Beyond its historical recognition, the 1855 Classification established a standard of excellence that has left an indelible mark on the Bordeaux region. Other renowned estates have since joined this elite group, forming a constellation of Grands Crus Classés, each contributing to the worldwide renown of the Bordeaux wine region.   

  The Grands Crus Classés of Bordeaux, whether from the 1855 classification or other prestigious lists, strike a balance between preserving traditional methods and exploring oenological innovations. 



An invitation to discover

For wine lovers, tasting an 1855 Grands Crus Classé or equivalent estate offers a unique sensory experience. Each drop tells a story, combining the glorious past with contemporary innovation. It’s an invitation to explore the vineyards of Bordeaux, to immerse yourself in the history of wine and to savour the timeless heritage of the Grands Crus Classés.